On Wednesday, January 12th, the 2022 RCRC Officers were sworn into office to lead the organization in championing policies on behalf of California’s rural counties. Nevada County Supervisor Dan Miller was installed as Chair with Butte County Supervisor Doug Teeter installed as First Vice Chair and Monterey County Supervisor Chris Lopez installed as Second Vice Chair. Mono County Supervisor Stacy Corless remains an Officer in the role of Immediate Past Chair. 

The Oath of Office was administered virtually, during the RCRC Board of Directors, by California State Senator Brian Dahle. Senator Dahle is a former RCRC Board Chair and was elected to the State Senate in 2019 to represent the 1st District, which encompasses 11 Northern California counties—nearly all of which are active members of RCRC.  

Read the full press release here

RCRC traditionally holds a reception to kick of the new year celebrating the installation of the new RCRC Officers and honoring the recipients of the Rural Leadership Awards. In light of the health order issued by the Sacramento County Health Officer on January 6, RCRC has postponed the Annual Installation and Awards Reception to a later date.  

The Rural Leadership Awards are presented annually to two public officials who have demonstrated an understanding of, and leadership in, rural issues and unique challenges that rural communities face. This year, RCRC looks forward to honoring the 2021 Rural Leadership Award recipients, Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry and Commissioner Martha Guzman Aceves of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC), for their leadership on broadband access and reliability issues in the legislature and CPUC, respectively.