Earlier this week, the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC) Board of Directors approved a resolution creating an Ad Hoc Committee on Homeowners Insurance (Committee).  The Committee is tasked with considering potential solutions for the increase in homeowners insurance cancelations and non-renewals in high fire risk areas.  

The potential solutions include, but are not limited to, introducing additional insurers into rural areas, working with the insurance industry on an insurance risk-reduction model, examining insurance industry risk modeling, re-creating/revising California’s Fair Access to Insurance Requirements Plan (FAIR Plan), and working directly with policy advocates, the California Legislature, and the Department of Insurance to explore other options.

Members of the Committee include the following County Supervisors:

1. Sherri Brennan (Tuolumne; Chair)

2. Bob Williams (Tehama)

3. Lee Adams (Sierra)

4. Kevin Cann (Mariposa)

5. Diane Dillon (Napa)

6. Randy Fletcher (Yuba)

7. Dan Miller (Nevada)

8. Brian Oneto (Amador)

9. Lori Parlin (El Dorado)

The Committee shall issue a report of findings no later than the August 2020 Board of Directors meeting.