

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 19, 2024

Carolyn Jhajj Communications Director 916-447-4806 <u>cjhajj@rcrcnet.org</u>

Modoc County Supervisor Geri Byrne is Elevated to RCRC's First Vice Chair Role

SACRAMENTO, CA – On Wednesday, Modoc County Supervisor Geri Byrne was elevated by her peers to serve as First Vice Chair of the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC). Supervisor Byrne took the Oath of Office as administered by State Senator John Laird as part of the 2024 Officers of RCRC.

Supervisor Byrne joins Monterey County Supervisor Chris Lopez, who will serve as Chair, Mariposa County Supervisor Miles Menetrey, who will serve as Second Vice Chair, and Butte County Supervisor Doug Teeter, who will serve as the Immediate Past Chair. These newly installed 2024 Officers will lead the organization in championing public policies on behalf of California's rural counties.

"RCRC is a proactive advocate and innovative service provider for rural California, drawing strength from the shared efforts and collaboration of its forty member counties," said Supervisor Byrne. "My sincere gratitude goes to my colleagues for appointing me to RCRC's 2024 leadership team. I am excited to carry on the important work of advancing the interests and needs of our rural communities."

RCRC's Board of Directors is headed by four officers composed of elected County Supervisors from the organization's 40 member counties. Modoc County has been a member of RCRC since 1976.

ABOUT RURAL COUNTY REPRESENTATIVES OF CALIFORNIA (RCRC)

The Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC) is a forty-member county strong service organization that champions policies on behalf of California's rural counties. RCRC is dedicated to representing the collective unique interests of its membership, providing legislative and regulatory representation at the State and Federal levels, and providing responsible services for its members to enhance and protect the quality of life in rural California counties. To learn more about RCRC, visit rcrcnet.org and follow @RuralCounties on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.



2024 RCRC First Vice Chair and Modoc County Supervisor Geri Byrne



RCRC 2024 Officers: First Vice Chair Geri Byrne, Chair Chris Lopez, Second Vice Chair Miles Menetrey, and Immediate Past Chair Doug Teeter

###