

September 4, 2020

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor, State of California State Capitol, First Floor Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Assembly Bill 890 (Wood) - SUPPORT

Dear Governor Newsom:

On behalf of the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC), I respectfully request your signature on Assembly Bill 890. AB 890, authored by Assembly Member Jim Wood, would allow Nurse Practitioners (NPs) that meet specified requirements to practice independently and without physician and surgeon supervision. RCRC is an association of thirty-seven rural California counties, and the RCRC Board of Directors is comprised of elected supervisors from each of those member counties.

Currently, California is one of twenty-eight states that requires NPs to practice under the supervision of a licensed physician and surgeon. While there are no definitive rules regarding the physical proximity of a physician to an NP, many medical services, such as ordering and interpreting diagnostic procedures, certifying disability, and prescribing, administering, and dispensing controlled substances, require a physician's oversight and authorization.

AB 890 allows a certified NP to practice without physician supervision in limited practice settings, and beginning January 1, 2023, authorizes practice beyond those restricted settings. This bill provides that upon completion of transition to practice requirements, a certified NP that meets all other outlined education and experience requirements, may perform specified functions in an independent practice environment. California has a significant shortage of health service providers in underserved and rural areas, and many children and adults face significant challenges accessing quality services. We believe AB 890 will help bridge the access gap by allowing NPs to provide full healthcare services in areas where physician care is infeasible.

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Assembly Bill 890 September 4, 2020 Page 2

Again, RCRC respectfully requests your signature on AB 890.

Sincerely,

PAUL A. SMITH

Senior Vice President Governmental Affairs

cc: The Honorable Jim Wood, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Susan Eggman, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable James Gallagher, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Mike Gipson, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Laura Friedman, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorably Buffy Wicks, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Robert Rivas, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Luz Rivas, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Timothy Grayson, Member of the Assembly

The Honorable Marc Berman, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Miguel Santiago, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Bill Quirk, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Marc Levine, Member of the State Assembly

The Honorable Anna Caballero, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Jerry Hill, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Connie Leyva, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Scott Wiener, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable John Moorlach, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Mike McGuire, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Ben Allen, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Richard Roth, Member of the State Senate

The Honorable Nancy Skinner, Member of the State Senate