

July 20, 2021

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Chairwoman Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry 328A Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Boozman
Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Agriculture,
Nutrition, & Forestry
328A Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

RE: Confirmation of Jenny Lester Moffitt as Under Secretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs of the United States Department of Agriculture - SUPPORT

Dear Senator Stabenow:

On behalf of the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC), I am writing to express our support for the confirmation of Jenny Lester Moffitt as Under Secretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

RCRC is an association of thirty-seven rural California counties, and the RCRC Board of Directors is comprised of elected supervisors from each member county. We believe the health and viability of many counties is based on a strong local agricultural economy.

As the Undersecretary at the California Department of Food and Agriculture, Ms. Moffitt has engaged with agricultural stakeholders on the critically important balance of sustaining the environment, strengthening the rural economies, and building healthy communities. If confirmed to USDA, we expect Ms. Moffitt to continue to be an asset and would join a mission that is focused on facilitating the domestic and international marketing of U.S. agricultural products, ensuring the health and care of animals and plants, and setting national and international standards.

For these reasons, RCRC supports the confirmation of Ms. Moffitt, and look forward to her serving in a new role at USDA. If you should have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Confirmation of Jenny Lester Moffitt July 20, 2021 Page 2

Sincerely,

Any Corlem

STACY CORLESS

Member, Mono County Board of Supervisors

RCRC Chair

cc: Jenny Lester Moffitt

The Honorable Charles Schumer, Member of the U.S. Senate The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Member of the U.S. Senate

The Honorable Alex Padilla, Member of the U.S. Senate

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, Member of the U.S. Senate