On Thursday, the United States Department of Agriculture,  Forest Service (USFS) Pacific Southwest Region, also known as USFS Region 5, announced the temporary closure of nine Northern California National Forests to members of the public due to extreme fire conditions throughout the north part of the state. The temporary closures went into effect immediately and include the following National Forests:

  • Klamath National Forest
  • Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit
  • Lassen National Forest
  • Mendocino National Forest
  • Modoc National Forest
  • Plumas National Forest
  • Shasta-Trinity National Forest
  • Six Rivers National Forest
  • Tahoe National Forest

In addition to these closures, the Eldorado National Forest is closed through September 30, 2021 due to the Caldor Fire. There are exemptions to the closures which can be viewed on the Region 5 website here, along with full information on the closures.